Helpline (costs)
0345 603 9213
Mon - Fri 8am - 8pm
Calls to our Helpline from landlines or mobile cost the same as to an 01 or an 02 number and will generally be included in any discount schemes or inclusive call minutes. For more info, please see www.ukcalling.info/cost-calling
Hidethis pageNow!

Hiding Visits to Our Website

You may need to hide your visit to our site.

Immediately…

Every page on the Victim Support Scotland website has a ‘Hide this page Now!’ button. If you click on this button, it will take you away from the Victim Support Scotland website to Google’s homepage. You can use this button if you want to hide what you are doing quickly.

hide your visit to our site (image: Couple looking at laptop)

But…Your Browsing History is Still There

Though clicking the button will move you away from the Victim Support Scotland website, someone with a little technical knowledge could still find out that you’ve been here. Clicking on the browser ‘back’ button will mean that you return to our website and every website that you visit is recorded in your browser’s history.

Safest Approach

If it’s important that others don’t know that you’ve visited our website, the safest thing may be to use a computer that’s not in your home, for example at a library or a friend’s house.

If you need to use a home computer, the following guides will tell you how to delete your Internet history.

Clearing your Internet History

There are two things you need to do to clear your history:

  1. Delete all cookies from the Temporary Internet Files on your computer. A cookie is a piece of information your computer that remembers where you’ve been online.
  2. Delete the websites in your history folder.

Deleting these isn’t difficult if you follow the steps below for the browser that you are using. If you want to go on the internet without storing any information, you can use a feature called private browsing (see below).

Which browser am I using?

You can find this out by looking at the top bar of the screen and clicking on the help menu. Then look for About Internet Explorer, About Mozilla Firefox or a similar ‘About…’ area. Click this and you will see your browser name and version number. Then follow the instructions below for your particular browser:

Internet Explorer 9

  1. Go to the menu bar at the top of the page. Click on the Tools menu and select Internet Options. This will make a box pop up with the names of several different sections along the top. You will already be in the section called General.
  2. In the General section under Browser History, select the Delete button.
  3. You can select and delete each section: Temporary Internet files; Cookies, History, Form data and Passwords.
  4. You can also just select the 'Delete all' button at the bottom to clear everything.

Internet Explorer 9

  1. Click on the ‘gear’ icon in the top right hand corner of the screen. It looks like a little wheel. Then click on Internet Options.
  2. This will make a box pop up with the names of several different sections along the top. You will already be in the section called General.
  3. In the General section under Browser History, select the Delete button.
  4. Tick each box: Temporary Internet files, Cookies, History, Download History, Form data, Passwords, InPrivate Filtering data.
  5. Un-tick the ‘Preserve Favourites website data’.
  6. Click Delete to clear everything.

Internet Explorer 10

  1. Move your mouse to the right-hand side of the page to bring up a side panel. Click on the Settings icon (it looks like a wheel shape) and click on Internet Options.
  2. Go to the Safety menu and select Delete.

Internet Explorer 11

  1. Move your mouse to the right-hand side of the page (or tap on it if you have a touch screen) to bring up a side panel. Tap or click the Favourites button (it looks like a star). This will bring up a drop-down menu.
  2. Choose the History tab. Now you can choose how you want to view your history. 'View By Date' shows your last three weeks of history. 'View By Site' shows a list of sites you visited in the last three weeks, but not the dates of your visits. 'View By Most Visited' only shows the sites you visited the most in the last three weeks. 'View By Order Visited Today' only shows sites you've visited today.
  3. Press and hold (or right-click) a site from any of these lists, then tap or click Delete. This will delete the site from your history.

To delete all your history:

  1. Click the Tools button in the top right of the screen (it looks like a wheel).
  2. Choose Safety, then click Delete browsing history.
  3. Tick each box: Temporary Internet files, Cookies, History, Download History, Form data, Passwords, and Filtering data.
  4. Click on Delete.

Safari

Resetting Safari clears your history and cookies. At the same time, it also clears your downloads, removes any saved usernames and passwords and clears Google or Yahoo search entries.

  1. Go to the Safari menu at top left hand screen.
  2. Click on 'Reset Safari'.

Firefox

  1. At the top of the window click on the Firefox button and go to the History menu.
  2. Click on ‘Clear Recent History’.
  3. A pop up window will appear. Choose a time range to clear from the drop down list. For example, you can just choose to clear the ‘Last Four Hours’.
  4. Click on ‘Clear Now’.

Google Chrome

  1. Open Google Chrome.
  2. Click on the Chrome menu icon in the top right hand corner (it looks like three lines).
  3. Choose ‘Tools’.
  4. Click on ‘Clear browsing data’.
  5. A pop up window will appear. Choose a time range to clear from the drop down list. For example, the ‘Last Four Hours’.
  6. Tick all of the boxes.
  7. Click ‘Clear browsing data’.

Opera

1. Go to the 'Tools' menu.
2. Choose 'Delete Private Data'.
3. Choose 'Details' or 'Detailed Options'.
4. Tick all the boxes and click on 'Delete'.

Private Browsing

Private browsing is when you tell your Internet browser not to save any history, cookies or temporary files. You need to do this each time you open your browser. If you close your browser and open it again without opting for private browsing, the private browsing feature will not work.

If you want to download any files or create bookmarks while you are browsing privately, you should still make sure you clear your history as these could be still saved.

Follow the instructions below to use private browsing.

Google Chrome

In Google Chrome, private browsing is known as using incognito mode.

  1. Click the spanner icon on the browser tool bar.
  2. Select ‘New incognito window’ from the list.
  3. A new window will open with a ‘secret agent’ icon in the corner. You can continue browsing as normal in this new window.
  4. Once you have finished your session, close the window and this will automatically erase any browsing information.

Internet Explorer 8 and 9

  1. Click on the ‘gear’ icon on the browser toolbar.
  2. Select ‘Safety’ then click on ‘InPrivate Browsing’.
  3. A new window will open with an ‘InPrivate’ indicator. You can continue browsing as normal in this new window. Make sure you look at our website in this window if you want to hide your visit.

Once you have finished your session, close the window and this will automatically delete any browsing information.

Internet Explorer 7

If you're still using Internet Explorer 7, there isn't a built-in tool for private browsing. It's a good idea to carefully clear your history and cookies if you're using these browsers.


Helpline: 0345 603 9213 (costs) DONATE